VIDAL SERFATY /

Of Counsel

Doctor of Law

Vidal was a co-founder then partner of Intervista. He now works transversally as ‘Of Counsel’ on many cases in the law firm by developing consultations.   He has an in-depth expertise in intellectual property law (copyright law and related rights, model and brand law), for national, international and Community law, as well as in fields related to intellectual property (unfair competition, free-riding, personality rights).  He also works in civil law (contract law, civil liability).

Before founding Intervista in 2007, Vidal took on many roles in intellectual property law. After obtaining a Masters 2 in literary, artistic and industrial property at the University of Paris II, he was notably the Chargé de mission at the literary and artistic property office of the Ministry of Culture and Communications, responsible for international and community law.  He has also worked as a non-government expert in the Phare/TACIS programmes of the European Commission (preparing the entry of Central and Eastern European states into the European Union).  Elsewhere, he has taught Intellectual Property law and civil law as a temporary teaching fellow (ATER) at university.

In 2011, Vidal defended his PhD thesis in private law at the University of Paris II, on derivative rights in audiovisual works. His supervisor was Professor Pierre-Yves Gautier. He was awarded a First Class Honours.  These thesis won the prize for the best thesis from the University of Paris II and from IRPI and the first prize of the Robert Abdesselam Foundation.  It has since been published by the publishers LexisNexis/IRPI.

Areas of expertise:

  • Intellectual Property
  • Law of persons
  • Contract law

Other languages spoken: English

This post is also available in: French

VIDAL-SIZE
VIDAL SERFATY /

Of Counsel

Vidal a été co-fondateur puis associé d’Intervista. Il intervient désormais comme of Counsel de manière transversale sur de nombreux dossiers du cabinet par l’élaboration de consultations. Il possède une expertise approfondie en droit de la propriété intellectuelle (droit d’auteur et droits voisins, dessins et modèles, marques), tant en droit interne qu’en droit international et communautaire, ainsi que sur des domaines liés à la propriété intellectuelle (concurrence déloyale, parasitisme, droits de la personnalité). Il intervient également en droit civil (droit des contrats, responsabilité civile).

Avant la création d’Intervista en 2007, Vidal a exercé de nombreuses fonctions dans le domaine du droit de la propriété intellectuelle. Parmi ces dernières et après l’obtention du Master 2 de droit de la propriété littéraire, artistique et industrielle de l’Université de Paris II, il a été notamment Chargé de mission au Bureau de la propriété littéraire et artistique du Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication, en charge du droit international et communautaire. Il a aussi été expert non-gouvernemental dans le cadre des programmes Phare/TACIS de la Commission européenne (préparant l’entrée dans l’UE des pays d’Europe centrale et orientale). Par ailleurs, il a enseigné le droit de la propriété intellectuelle et le droit civil en tant qu’attaché des universités (ATER).

En 2011, Vidal a soutenu à l’Université de Paris II sa thèse de doctorat de droit privé consacrée aux droits dérivés de l’oeuvre audiovisuelle  et dirigée par le Professeur Pierre-Yves Gautier avec la mention très honorable et les félicitations du jury. Cette thèse a été honorée par les prix de thèse de l’Université de Paris II, de l’Irpi ainsi que par le premier prix de la Fondation Robert Abdesselam. Elle est désormais publiée aux éditions LexisNexis/Irpi. Depuis septembre 2015, Vidal est Maître de conférences en droit privé à l’Université de Cergy-Pontoise où il enseigne le droit de la propriété intellectuelle et le droit civil.

Domaines d’intervention :

  • Propriété Intellectuelle
  • Droit des Personnes
  • Droit des Contrats

Langues courantes : Anglais

This post is also available in: Anglais